One year in China. Let's do this!

Thanks Lichfield, for Jack and Rose

At the end of the semester, I was discussing with several of the Chinese students how they chose their English names.  A student turned to me, and said, “I chose my name because I love the movie Titanic.  I hoped that by choosing my name, it would help me find my Rose.”  He shyly turned away, embarrassed.  I couldn’t help but think, ‘Jack, you say that line to a few girls and you will find your Rose pretty quickly.’

****

This past week, I went on a ten-day trip to visit family in England.  It had been almost five years since my last trip to visit all the relatives, and it had been far too long.  My first stop on the whirlwind tour was a visit to Lichfield.

I really didn’t know what was in Lichfield before I arrived, but after being there for only a few short hours, I was wildly impressed.  A super fancy cathedral, one of the cutest downtowns with pedestrian-only streets, and loads of parks.

The catehdral, and its three spires, can be seen around town in Lichfield.  It has resulted in the local shop owners oh-so-creatively naming all their stores the "Three Spires" [fill in the blank] as a subtle nod to the town's most famous landmark.

The catehdral, and its three spires, can be seen around town in Lichfield. It has resulted in the local shop owners oh-so-creatively naming all their stores the “Three Spires” [fill in the blank] as a subtle nod to the town’s most famous landmark.

Hello, happiness.  This was a delicious treat that was served to me at the "Damn Fine Cafe" in the center of Lichfield.  Yes, that's right, the cafe was indeed called just that.  Too good.

Hello, happiness. This was a delicious treat that was served to me at the “Damn Fine Cafe” in the center of Lichfield. Yes, that’s right, the cafe was indeed called just that. Too good.

But Lichfield is known for one other thing.  It was the birthplace of the Captain of the Titanic.

There he is - Edward Smith, the captain of the Titanic.  His statue stands in Beacon Park in Lichfield.

There he is – Edward Smith, the captain of the Titanic. His statue stands in Beacon Park in Lichfield.

So without Lichfield and without the captain and without that iceberg, we wouldn’t have had the epic masterpiece of Kate and Leo.  If that’s not trying to find the silver lining of a horrific event, I don’t know what is.

So cheers to Lichfield.

 

Tagged as: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

