One year in China. Let's do this!

RT: Life After China

The World of Chinese wrote this great post recently about reverse culture shock.  As I am about to head off for a month of exploring the great historical sites (and the pizza shops) of Italy, I can’t help but wonder whether I will feel the same way as I leave Shanghai and arrive in a much more Westernized environment.

Leaving China soon for an extended vacation and it feels so...strange.

Leaving China soon for an extended vacation and it feels so…strange.  This photo was taken from the airplane window on my flight from Atlanta to Tokyo on my way here in July, and it seems like a blink of an eye since I was on that flight heading here to start this job and experience.

The blog post talked about adoring the pushing and shoving on the trains, the odd variety of potato chips, the ability to converse in a foreign language every day, and the cheapness of this country.

I would have to add that some of the things I never thought I would love are the group picture taking with me front and center, the pointing at me because of my white skin, the insanity of standing in a Chinese line while trying to get a bus or train ticket, or the weird but delicious street vendor’s food options.

What will I do when I’m not constantly checking on my iPhone to see how high the PM 2.5 index has reached today?  How many times will I blurt out, “Xie xie” to someone when I am saying thank you?  Will I be overwhelmed by all the other people that look like me?  I have become so used to being an American living and working in CHINA that I’m not quite sure how it will feel to be back in a Western culture.

I have come to love this crazy, wild, odd, unusual, yet brilliant city.

I have come to love this crazy, wild, odd, unusual, yet brilliant city.

Well, more updates to come!  Stay tuned for my month long January adventures in Rome, Madrid, London, and Dubai!

To see the original blog post from The World of Chinese, you can follow this link here (http://www.theworldofchinese.com/2013/12/reverse-culture-shock/#comment-38727).

Tagged as: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses »

  1. After living in Beijing for 2 1/2 years and having slowly adjusted to that foreign land, it felt so weird being in Turkey. Everyday I woke up and heard people speaking in Turkish outside my window, i was instantly transported to those first few weeks in China. I don’t know when it happened, but China became normal for me. I can’t speak Turkish either, so as far as I am back to square 1. But it’s never good to get too comfortable or else we will never change and grow.

    • So very true. That’s why I love to do loads of side trips and keep the China/Asia adventure exciting. It’s nice to have a base in a foreign place that feels comfortable all while still venturing out to new places in the region to see new things and keep life interesting!

Leave a Reply

