One year in China. Let's do this!

What does Ethnican even mean?

In case you don't know how to read a chips packet, that in fact does say INCA CHIPS, have a dancing...Incan...and then inform the chips consumer that they are Ethnican flavored.

In case you don’t know how to read a chips packet, that in fact does say INCA CHIPS, have a dancing…Incan…and then inform the chips consumer that they are Ethnican flavored.

I saw them when walking around a convenience store when reviewing all the convenience store brand shops for a food article for Shanghaiist.  I thought, no, it can’t be.  Those cannot be real.  Is that an Incan person on a chips packet?  Why in the heck is a dancing Incan on a chips packet?  What do those chips taste like?

Well then I saw at the bottom – they are ETHNICAN FLAVOR.  What does that mean?  Is that even an English word?  Words with Friends wouldn’t let me play it so I’m assuming that’s a NO.

I picked up the packet, took a picture – lolz Instagram that stuff ASAP lolololll #racism #ethnican #HIGHlarious – and then put it down because I wondered whether eating those chips would make me a racist.  Is that possible?

Then the other day I was in a convenience store, super hungry and craving a guilty indulgence, and I saw them again.  I caved in.  I bought the Inca Chips.  And apparently Ethnican flavored things tastes like Southwest BBQ Lays Chips.  Who knew.

Don’t hate me, Politically Correct people.  I promise I felt guilty with each and every delicious, ethnican-flavored bite.

Tagged as: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

