One year in China. Let's do this!

China’s Grimmauld Place

I have always hoped I would be a wizard.  Reading the Harry Potter books as a child, I was absolutely 100% convinced that there would be a letter in the mail for me on my 11th birthday.  When it didn’t come, I was devastated.  However, chin up, Charlotte, life moves on, perhaps a high school version of Hogwarts exists in the States.  Nope.  Nothing at age 14.  Or at 18 when it came time for wizarding college.  Darn.

Today, I had another sad confirmation of my Muggle-ness.  It came in the form of getting hopelessly lost on my way to a meeting.  The person asked me to meet up at 271 Ling Ling Road.  I was walking down Ling Ling Road, and I got to 280.  Right next to 280 was 269.  First , I was confused because in China, the odd numbers are on one side of the street and the even numbers on the other for the most part.  And although I may not have been a math major in college, I feel pretty confident in saying that one of those numbers is not an odd number.  So there I was, staring at the numbers 280 and 269 right next to each other.  There was no building in between.

And that’s when I realized it.  I was staring at China’s answer to Grimmauld Place.  And I was the muggle looking on not being able to see 271 Ling Ling Road, just as the muggles walking by wouldn’t have been able to see 12 Grimmauld Place.

I would never have access to 271 Ling Ling Road.  I would never meet Mad Eye Moody who would tell me the code and use his magic walking cane to gain access to the China portal for the Order of the Pheonix.  Absolute devastation.

Time to go buy some Muggle snacks, curl up in my Muggle bed, and cry some Muggle tears.

Tagged as: , , , , , ,

2 Responses »

  1. Hahaha! I have had muggle situations too. It’s just sad..

  2. You’re post made me laugh. 🙂

    I have had this same experience with numbers being missing on roads and of course I think of Harry Potter. I have also been told that my house was a “Grimauld Place” because no one ever sees it. No matter how careful my directions are visitors drive right past my driveway every time. Calling me frantically on the phone to insist that my house isn’t there.

    Yeah for the little things that remind us of the world of Harry Potter.

    ~Aspen

Leave a Reply

