One year in China. Let's do this!

A Weekend of Self -Care

The hair was up, the t-shirts were being worn “on the reg”, and the gym clothes were nicely tucked away in the back drawer of a closet, untouched.  Yikes.  Time for a Charlotte intervention of the “get your shit together” kind.

The first step of the intervention was a haircut.  A friend had recommended a “salon” near our apartment where you can walk in and get a haircut for 20 kuai.  Boom, awesome.  The woman next to me was wearing these ear things to make sure her ears didn’t get the hair dye on them.  They were all pointy, making her look like a female version of Gollum from The Lord of The Rings.  I was amused.

It looked just like a cheap salon in the Village!  But it was the same cost as a cup of coffee!

It looked just like a cheap salon in the Village! But it was the same cost as a cup of coffee!

Step two of the self-care weekend was going to redeem my massage gift card.  When I signed up for the Wills gym, they gave us a 1000 RMB gift card to a spa in this monstrosity of a store complex that I fondly refer to as the McDonalds Mall that is across from my apartment.  So although I had about a .0001% interest in some rando person touching me and me having to pay for it, since I was getting it for free, it seemed like a waste to not use the card.

The massage was a cupping massage.  Are those instruments of torture? Nope.

All of these went on my body.  Yikes.

All of these went on my body. Yikes.

People pay 498 RMB to have those things suck up your back fat and make massive bruises all over your body.  Oh China.

A reverse Japanese flag?  No.  Just a massive, voluntarily induced bruise that is still on my arm three days later.  Wowzers.

A reverse Japanese flag? No. Just a massive, voluntarily induced bruise that is still on my arm three days later. Wowzers.

After that rather torturous massage was over, I decided that it was also time to tame the unibrow action on my face.  While others were hitting up the super popular Browhaus with its hipster advertisements and ridiculous prices, I decided to go to the rather random American Style Nail.  While the outside of the store looked like it might be super seedy, I was greeted by the nicest lady ever and her husband, who own the store together and seemed rather pleased that a real-life American was standing in their American Style Nail store.  Five minutes later and the unibrow had been conquered.  Two distinct brows for the win.

Something about quotes pasted onto the wall of a store seems like this is a little sketchy.  Turned out to be a really nice spot, though.

Something about quotes pasted onto the wall of a store seems like this is a little sketchy. Turned out to be a really nice spot, though.

So for the minimal cost of 78 RMB (or 12 bucks), the weekend of self-care was a success filled with entertaining interactions with locals that still left quite a few of the red renminbi bills in my wallet.

Tagged as: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

