One year in China. Let's do this!

Cough cough hack hack

I sounded like a dying animal throughout the entirety of Monday’s job training.  This cough had been going on for about a week and a half.  But because I am a 22 year old that still doesn’t know how to take care of myself, I thought the best way to get better was to go for a nice long morning walk in the park followed by entire days of training followed by a trip to the gym followed by evenings out with friends.  So the cough cough hack hack continued.

Also, our insurance plan did not include Parkway Health, the heavenly land of Western doctors, which had been my doctor’s office of choice when I studied abroad here in 2011.  It may seem slightly American-centric, but I liked to discuss my digestive health issues with a Western doctor rather than scrambling for the appropriate words to explain to a Chinese doctor.  And the thought of explaining diarrhea through charades was less than appealing.  So when I found out that ParkwayHealth was not fully covered in our insurance plan, panic set in.  So the cough cough hack hack continued.
It wasn’t until my two supervisors couldn’t really hear each other over my cough cough hack hack on Monday that I said ENOUGH IS ENOUGH and called my insurance company to schedule an appointment at another doctor’s office.
The entrance to the doctor's office.

The entrance to the doctor’s office.

I was nervous.  I sat at lunch saying to my co-workers, “what if the people are crazy?  What if they don’t speak English?  WHAT IF I CONTRACT SOME EVEN  WORSE HORRIBLE DISEASE…AND DIE?”
Gosh, I should have been a drama major in college.
Luckily, when I rolled up to Delta West Clinic, I felt at home.
Nothing like a Chinese garden to calm you down before going into the doctor's office.

Nothing like a Chinese garden to calm you down before going into the doctor’s office.

When I entered into the hospital, they poked a woman and she scurried over.  The English speaker had been sent over to the white girl.  “Hello Madam.”  (I liked this place already.)  “How can we help you?  Would you like some coffee or water?”  (Oohh don’t mind if I do.) “Please fill out these forms.”
Pointing me towards the Western medical haven.

Pointing me towards the Western medical haven.

I was then taken back into the hospital area and met with Magdalena, an Austrian doctor who had been in Shanghai for over a year, and was super professional, and nice, and English-speaking.  No charades.  No awkward translations into Chinese.  And Dr. Magdalena, as she called herself, perscribed the most wonderful of medications that has made me stop cough cough hack hacking for the most part.
So for those looking for a good place to go to a doctor without paying a hefty sum for a Western-style treatment, or just to get rid of your own “cough cough hack hack” my highest recommendations go to Delta West Clinic.
Tagged as: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

